Skip to content ↓

Charvil Piggott Primary School

Part of the Piggott Church of England Academy

Foundation Stage



The EYFS curriculum is completed during children's first year at school. Our Early Years provision follows four guiding principles:


  • Every child is unique, constantly learning and capable of being confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments which are responsive to their needs and where there is a strong partnership between school and parents / carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways.

The seven areas of learning and development identified by the Government shape our Early Years programme. These areas are inter-connected and crucial for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, as well as for building the capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. The areas are:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the world
  7. Expressive arts and design.

Each area of learning and development is implemented through the key characteristics of effective learning:

  • Engaging with what is around them
  • Being motivated and involved
  • Developing their own ideas and making links in their learning